Max & Peggy Becker Lifetime Volunteer Award Recipient

Office of International Programs honors the efforts of volunteers

Each spring, the Office of International Programs and Colorado State University seek to recognize an outstanding community volunteer (individual or couple) who has worked closely with the Office of International Programs toward continuous efforts in the area of international outreach over the last two years. The recipient will be recognized for significant lifetime volunteer acts that have helped promote international education and understanding within the larger CSU and Fort Collins community. Examples include organizing international awareness events, assisting with international student activities, volunteer leadership involvement in non-profit international organizations, and repeatedly helping international friends/guests or showing exceptional compassion as a global citizen. The recipient is recognized at the Office of International Programs and Fort Collins International Center’s Volunteer Appreciation Party.

Now Accepting Nominations!

Get the PDF application here. Printed applications are available at the Office of International Programs, Laurel Hall (northeast corner of the Oval).

  • MAIL: International Programs, c/o M Hallett, Campus Delivery 1024, Fort Collins, Co 80523
  • E-MAIL: Submit this form electronically to by May 2, 2021.

2019 Max and Peggy Becker Lifetime Award winner

Congratulations to Barbara J Stallings, the 2019 recipient of the Max & Peggy Becker Lifetime Volunteer Award!

Barbara J Stallings was recognized by the Office of International Programs at CSU for her remarkable contributions to the international community of Fort Collins. Stallings has been an active volunteer for FCIC since 2013. She provides free English classes to the international community as well as other services if there is a need. This includes, help with schoolwork, housing and storage searches, or even leading culture trips to demonstrate life in the U.S. One year, Stallings even managed to receive a place in the Coloradoan which increased home-stay hosts for the international community. Many would describe her as hard-working, dedicated and lively. Stallings unquestionably creates a positive experience for the international community.

Previous Max and Peggy Becker Lifetime Award Winners:

  • 2018 – Judy Hill
  • 2017 – Adina Dumitrache
  • 2016 – Roy Mongelli
  • 2015 – Karen Smith
  • 2014 – Lisa Bogdanski
  • 2013 – Steven Fletcher
  • 2012 – Nancy Murray, Mark Oberschmidt
  • 2011 – Jane Babcock
  • 2010 – Lucy She
  • 2009 – Ruth Jakubauskas
  • 2008 – Jean Griswold
  • 2007 – Betty Shoemaker
  • 2006 – Gail Woods
  • 2005 – Nancy and Robert Sturtevant
  • 2004 – Larry and Beverly Webber
  • 2003 – Alice Rule