Fulbright Recipients Honored at Annual Reception

DSCN0787On April 10, past, present and future Fulbright Program participants gathered at the Lory Student Center as part of an annual reception that honors Colorado State University Fulbright recipients and visiting Fulbright students and scholars from around the world.

Vice Provost for International Affairs Jim Cooney, a former Fulbright scholar to Germany, addressed the crowd, recognizing attendees’ accomplishments and commitment to building connections around the world. The event also featured speakers Mapitso Mosito, a Lesothan Fulbright master’s student in the Global Social and Sustainable Enterprise (GSSE) MBA Program, and Justin Lee, a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine student who received a Fulbright to do research in Ecuador.

The international community of students, faculty and staff has grown at CSU in recent years. This year, the University is host to four international scholars and 38 international Fulbright students, an increase of 35 from just 10 years ago. Three CSU undergraduate students were recently named as finalists for awards, and several faculty members have received notice of their awards for the upcoming academic year.

The Fulbright Program

Sponsored by the United States Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, the Fulbright Program provides funding for students, scholars, teachers, and professionals to undertake graduate study, advanced research, university teaching, and teaching in elementary and secondary schools. Named for U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright, the Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 grants annually. Roughly 1,600 U.S. students, 4,000 foreign students, 1,200 U.S. scholars, and 900 visiting scholars receive awards. Approximately 310,000 “Fulbrighters” have participated in the program since its inception in 1946. At CSU, the Fulbright Program is jointly administered by the Office for Undergraduate Research and Artistry, the Office of International Programs, and the Graduate School.

More photos